The New Vegan

Everyone's gotta start somewhere…

Foods! May 28, 2010

Filed under: Today I Ate — thenewveggie @ 1:11 pm
Tags: ,

Quinoa with roasted veggies!

Now, I don’t have a formal recipe, because I just threw in what I had left in the refrigerator together. But basically, I chopped up tomato, zucchini, squash, onion, and mushroom and roasted the veggies. While they roasted I cooked in quinoa in veggie broth. I just seasoned everything with salt and pepper. I think next time I’ll add some garlic and a few other veggies, but what I love about this concept is that it’s easily adaptable. If you like something spicy, you can add red pepper flakes, etc. Oh what fun! Anyone got any other ideas to make this tastier? Let me know please!

A Green Smoothie!
2 massive handfuls of spinach
1 tbsp of almond butter
1 tbsp of hemp protein (or whatever kind of protein powder you have)
1 frozen banana
1 tbsp of ground flax seed
1/2 cup of almond milk
3/4 cup of ice

I’ve been loving the concept of the smoothie! I’ve never ever been much of a smoothie person, but making my own really makes all the difference. What I love about these smoothies is that you can get tons of good nutrients all in one meal (I usually replace a meal with a smoothie, they’re super filling!). I know the whole idea of drinking spinach sounds gross and all kinds of awful, but I can understand why it’s made such a splash around the health blog parts…
You really can’t taste the spinach. Between the sweetness of the blueberries and bananas and the nuttiness of the almond butter and milk, it turns it in to a banana nut smoothie that just happens to have spinach in it. Totally fangirling over these. Completely recommended!

Anyway, off to bed I go. I have plans to kick my own ass at the gym tomorrow morning!

 

Leave a Reply

