The New Vegan

Everyone's gotta start somewhere…

Make your mind up, woman! April 14, 2010

Filed under: To do lists — thenewveggie @ 10:46 pm
Tags:

Ok. Just scratch everything in that last post. You know, the part I said about never going vegan. I’ve had a change of heart. Well, a trial-basis change of heart.

I’ve decided to try veganism for a month. There are several reasons for this, the main reason stems from my stance on the industrial food industry (factory farming)/government subsidies and how it impacts our environment, our ecosystems, our animals, and our bodies. I really just want to live the most honest life I can. I also know the honest me wouldn’t eat things that go against my beliefs. I’m not trying to be perfect at it, but I want to do my best.

My main concern is really making sure that I eat enough of the right foods (and take all my vitamins!) to make sure I’m hitting all my nutritional marks. To be honest, my eating hasn’t been all that well lately. Not badly just… I’ll eat toast for breakfast and then eat it again for lunch haha. I’m just not getting enough variety right now to call it healthy by my standards. Anyway, starting today, I’m putting effort into my meals and switching it up a bit :).
Also, I bought THIS book to acquire some more information about going vegan and whatnot. I never thought I would ever even try this, but now I’m game for a trial basis. Interesting.

Cutting out diary and eggs will be tougher. And what about stuff like honey? Hmm, I need vegan guidance…
I’ve chosen to enlist Brendan Brazier via Thrive: The Vegan Nutrition Guide to
Optimal Performnace in Sports and Life
to help. I’m awaiting his book as we speak…

We will see. If it’s any indication by my previous posts, I’m constantly changing and trying new things. Not a bad thing, at all.

 

2 Responses to “Make your mind up, woman!”

  1. conradvisionquest Says:

    i never thought i would go vegan either! but here i am a few months in and i know i won’t go back. if you have any questions or need help or just wanna chat just let me know! good luck…
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

